Forum

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

My 2021 TC Max.

Page 3 / 4

PetesScaleFabShop
Posts: 36
Topic starter
(@petesscalefabshop)
Eminent Member
Joined: 10 months ago

So I am now reasonably happy with the settings I now have on the bike, I am just trying to dial out the speedo error.

As promised here are my settings:-

This gives me nice crisp acceleration and a top indicated speed of 100kmh (62mph) however I know that compared to my GPS speedo the speedo over reads by a couple of mph. This was on the run to work this morning with a fully charged battery and slightly up hill and little to no wind.

I am pretty sure that the only way to go faster now will be to build a new battery with a higher voltage and a fit controller to go with it.  

I still have some other mods planned for the bike including fitting a new BMS to the battery, the hack module to sort the battery gauge out with the new BMS, replacing the push button with a conventional key, I also am intending to replace the 80A circuit breaker with a relay and putting a 200A contactor in the main power wires so the key can switch all the power off apart from a small 72 to 12v convertor.

More soon.

Reply
19 Replies
Berserk-HealerPL
(@berserk-healerpl)
Joined: 6 months ago

Active Member
Posts: 5

@petesscalefabshop How do you program the original controller from tc max

Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
(@petesscalefabshop)
Joined: 10 months ago

Eminent Member
Posts: 36

@berserk-healerpl 

You need a programming from golden motor :- Programing Lead 

and Lingbo software v4.0.0 :-  Software

 

Reply
Berserk-HealerPL
(@berserk-healerpl)
Joined: 6 months ago

Active Member
Posts: 5

@petesscalefabshop what is the pin layout for programming?

Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
(@petesscalefabshop)
Joined: 10 months ago

Eminent Member
Posts: 36

@berserk-healerpl Sorry, I don't understand the question.

The programing lead plugs directly into the controller @ the small connector under a rubber cover.

Reply
Berserk-HealerPL
(@berserk-healerpl)
Joined: 6 months ago

Active Member
Posts: 5

@petesscalefabshop what this plug looks like, can't find any unconnected plug

Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
(@petesscalefabshop)
Joined: 10 months ago

Eminent Member
Posts: 36

@berserk-healerpl this image should help. its a small six pin connector it has a rubber cover normally.

Reply
Berserk-HealerPL
(@berserk-healerpl)
Joined: 6 months ago

Active Member
Posts: 5

@petesscalefabshop mine looks a little different. The photo cannot be uploaded. I put a link to the photo. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1MMq_YCPZ1ZH2CEjqGNur3M52H0vMvBiU/view?usp=sharing

 

 
Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
(@petesscalefabshop)
Joined: 10 months ago

Eminent Member
Posts: 36

@berserk-healerpl I believe you have the early type controller then, what year is yours?

Reply
simon_duguay
(@simon_duguay)
Joined: 2 months ago

New Member
Posts: 3

@berserk-healerpl just received the cable from golden motor.  There is another connector on it.  Any idea what to do with it?

 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AhoqvERY4nrZixRUFZAQbHHEGPN98I8S/view?usp=sharing

 

Reply
Bman280
(@bman280)
Joined: 2 months ago

New Member
Posts: 1

@berserk-healerpl Mine looks like yours as well. I have a TC Max Pro, manufacture date seems to be 7/2020. Here in Canada the bike is locked at 70km/h but if the controller isn't programmable how did they lock it then and more importantly how can I UNLOCK it to it's native 90 km/h? Did you figure it out?

Reply
simon_duguay
(@simon_duguay)
Joined: 2 months ago

New Member
Posts: 3

@petesscalefabshop I just ordered the cable you mentioned.  Do you need too unplug the controller and connect only the usb? Power on the bike?  Please let me know how to connect the programming lead to the controller.

Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
(@petesscalefabshop)
Joined: 10 months ago

Eminent Member
Posts: 36

@simon_duguay You don't need to disconnect the controller to program it, you just need to switch power off and let the USB power the controller whilst you program it.

Reply
dick20043
(@dick20043)
Joined: 1 month ago

New Member
Posts: 1

@petesscalefabshop  

I connect to the controller, but the software cannot connect. What do you think is the problem?

Reply
fabulousmicke
(@fabulousmicke)
Joined: 2 months ago

New Member
Posts: 1

@petesscalefabshop This is super interesting. I got a TSx this week. It is a 2021 model and the derestrict trick does not work. As far as I can understand it works on some 2021s yielding about 58 km/h instead of 45 km/h. I assume that it does not work on my bike due to later firmware version and I have been searching for previous firmware versions and tools to downgrade. While focusing on the TC Max, this thread is the closest to the topic I have seen so far. Any ideas?

Reply
Paslecwar
(@paslecwar)
Joined: 6 months ago

Active Member
Posts: 12

@petesscalefabshop You’re settings are different than the one I tried but not to much.  I tried them on my bike (which is on a stand for the moment cause it’s Canada hey) and I can feel the difference with the torque and acceleration.  Can’t wait to try it but have to wait another 2 months.  Thanks for sharing.

Reply
Paslecwar
(@paslecwar)
Joined: 6 months ago

Active Member
Posts: 12

@petesscalefabshop Do you have the file of the original settings of the controller in UK for me?  I would like to try something here in Canada for comparison.  Thanks

Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
(@petesscalefabshop)
Joined: 10 months ago

Eminent Member
Posts: 36

@paslecwar sorry only just noticed this.

I have some stockish settings but not completly stock. They are on my laptop which I don't have to hand at the moment. next time I have it fired up i'll try and remember to post them.

Reply
Paslecwar
(@paslecwar)
Joined: 6 months ago

Active Member
Posts: 12

@petesscalefabshop stockis is fine with me.

Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
(@petesscalefabshop)
Joined: 10 months ago

Eminent Member
Posts: 36

@paslecwar 

Reply
Drift
Posts: 26
(@drift)
Eminent Member
Joined: 6 months ago

Nice gains in performance there Pete. Mine barely does indicated 90kph. Look forward to see the BMS upgrade.

Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
Posts: 36
Topic starter
(@petesscalefabshop)
Eminent Member
Joined: 10 months ago

Been riding this a fair bit since my last update and all was going fine. I did end up changing the BMS for a 300A one (although I am still running bypass at the moment) as the stock one would only allow me to discharge down to 60%. I believe this was happening as one of the cells was discharging faster than the others and then the BMS would shut down, I was still powering the display etc from the stock discharge plug via the BMS. 

With the new BMS in this no longer occurs and stangely the low cell now seems to be behaving better.

However a week ago the bike died, whilst sat on the drive. I went to go for a ride on the Sunday and it wouldn't switch on. The power button would not switch the bike on. further investigation showed that the remote wasn't switching the immobiliser off and the red flashing LED didn't light up correctly. 

I think what caused this is that water got into the switch and then froze and shorted the switch or its wiring out. The down side of this is it appears to have killed the controller and the DC to DC convertor.

I had plans to replace the push button with a conventional ignition key anyway, so over the easter weekend I have ended up stripping the wiring loom off the bike and deleted all the extra bits I no longer wanted (GPRS module, immobiliser/alarm and the push button) I also decided to install a different dash and new headlights. I have also installed the Golden Motor VEC300 I had on the shelf so that the bike can be ridden again, well almost I need the new DC to DC convertor to arrive.

I went for a CT-22 dash and a twin 90mm round headlights fitted with H4 led bulbs. The ignition key switch is a cheapo from amazon. I have also fitted some smaller indicators (again cheap ones from amazon)

All the wiring is complete the dash works, but needs to be mounted correctly and setting up. The lights work, but need aligning. I haven't test ridden it yet as I don't trust the 2A dc to dc convertor to work long enough for a useful test. So until the new 20A (stock is 10A) one arrives I can't say how differently the VEC300 works compared to the stock controller. 

I didn't take any pics during the work but this is what she looks like now (needs a clean).

I'll be back with an update once I have had chance to test all the changes.

Reply
Drift
Posts: 26
(@drift)
Eminent Member
Joined: 6 months ago

Nice one Pete! That dash looks proper factory! I'd prefer a normal key too but not sure I can be bothered unless it breaks. I'd like to remove the alarm though. Any tips on that?

Reply
CentrJPN
Posts: 5
(@centrjpn)
Active Member
Joined: 2 months ago

guys, tell me where and what kind of BMS to buy?

the motorcycle does not see the battery..

Reply
1 Reply
PetesScaleFabShop
(@petesscalefabshop)
Joined: 10 months ago

Eminent Member
Posts: 36

@centrjpn I got one from Aliexpress. just search for Super Soco BMS.

 

Reply
Page 3 / 4
Share: